Skip to content

New Job, New Apartment, New Clothes…

May 5, 2010

…now all I need is a new car.

I recently interviewed for a new position within my company, and I’ll be working with publicity.  This is a huge step, because it means I’ll finally be using the knowledge I paid for in college.  Not only exciting, but this information is also completely enlightening, because it means I haven’t actually forgotten all that knowledge I learned. I had started to think that I may have forgotten nearly everything, and the longer I wasn’t in a PR job, the more unlikely it would be I’d ever get a PR job.

But as all good publicists know, two of the greatest powers are networking and persistence. Using the power of the two things I knew best, I succeeded!! I start in three weeks, and I couldn’t be happier.  It also means I’ll be getting a pretty large raise, and that makes me even happier.

Moving is always stressful, and this move was not any different.  I have always been the kind of person who immediately must unpack every possible box and put everything in its place before I can return to real life.  I fall off the face of the planet for nearly four days in a whirlwind of organization and bleach spray.  To my advantage, Jesse and I were the lucky winners of all of his parents’ older furniture.  They were remodeling, and decided to hand down their leather sofas, end tables, a coffee table, pots and pans, a LCD television, a TV stand, a bed suit, (the dresser, chest and bed frame) and other odds and ends.  Part of me almost feels guilty Jesse and I made out like bandits.  I cried my little heart out on the way to work one morning thinking about how much money his parents had just saved us by offering to help.  It was totally unexpected, but very welcomed. I’ve considered taking photos and sending them to his mother, because I do have her phone number, but I’m not entirely sure that’s a good idea…but that’s another discussion entirely.

For my birthday, Jesse’s parents gave me fifty dollars–holy moly!–and I’ve decided to use it for more work clothes, since I don’t have a dashing array of items I could feel comfortable wearing to work every day. (I wear nearly the same five outfits every week arranged each day in a different order.) Like any girl, I get very excited about new clothes and often giggle at the thought of looking a closet of beautiful clothes thinking, “Oh, what should I wear today.”  Shopping however, is a completely different story.  While wearing the clothes is enjoyable, finding them in the stores is not.  After one or two hours of being in or near a mall, I feel very anxious and immediately want to go home.  I think I’m the first girl I know who does not like to shop.  It’s so very strange.  But if I were buying a new car, I’m sure I’d love to shop.

This past week has been filled with these huge life changing events, (okay, maybe only two) and I’m very excited to start what seems to be a new chapter in my life.  I had waited so long to something PR-related, and it seems my time has finally come. Not even a month ago I was certain it was the end, that I would never have anything good ever come my way and I’d be reduced to being underpaid and under appreciated (isn’t everyone?).  But everyone around me kept positive, and told me if I did the same, that those good things would manifest.  Once, a very good friend told me that it was best that the worst things happened all at once, because if those big things happened once a week instead of all in one week, we’d all be pretty miserable.  The same can be said for those good things that happen in your life. “Good things come to those who wait,” because if you wait out the bad stuff, the good stuff will surely come to you.  The moral of the story is that in order to get to the good stuff, you might have to wade through a bunch of crap first.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

