Skip to content

Ask for Help!

October 5, 2010

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I published a blog post. I sincerely haven’t had the time, and that’s completely honest. I finally just brought it up to my supervisor and offered subtle hints at my possible explosion, instead of just telling them immediately when there was a problem. Instead, I waited until I was behind…and that was a very bad idea.

Honestly, I thought I could handle it at first. I’ve never taken on tasks I haven’t been able to tackle, even with a little frustration and hard work. I’ve always considered myself to have an exceptional work ethic, and I’ve taken great pride in my ability to adapt to change and roll with the punches.

But this was completely out of my control. But the good news is, all is settled. I finally spoke with boss, and changed some things around a bit. My boss gave me some solid advice about my career, and life in general. He said, “You need to be able to say, ‘There has to be a better way to do this, and I’m going to find out what it is’.”

This advice was not unlike something I’d heard in college, but had obviously forgotten, from the Dean of Students Brad Hamm, who said, “The answer is out there somewhere; I just need to figure out how to get my hands on it.”

My thought process was almost there. I definitely realized there had to be a better way to complete the tasks at hand, but I almost felt that I was too busy and too consumed to actually figure it out. That practice of thinking led me so far down the path of no answers; that stress nearly took me over. Fortunately for me, I have a very wonderful team at my disposal, who did notice, and a boss who really cares and is extremely considerate of his employees.

When I was younger, another piece of advice I’d been given went something like this, “You’ll never stop learning.” That is probably the truest statement I’ve ever heard in my life. I thought I knew Excel fairly well, I thought I had good time management skills; I thought I could handle loads of work with no help. The most important advice I’ve been given, within in this week, is that I have to know when it’s time to step back and ask for help. I’ve always been afraid to admit I don’t have a handle on it, that I might need an extra few hands to help me through.

I think this post has so many possible morals I can’t possibly name them all, but most importantly, remember two heads are better than one, and if you can’t find the answer, it’s out there somewhere.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 7:43 am

    Brittani,
    You do have an incredible work ethic, one of the strongest I’ve ever seen! I just want to say that I really appreciate you,
    Vicki

Leave a Reply

