Skip to content

“The dog has separation anxiety!”

November 15, 2010

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve aquired a new neighbor. I love new neighbors, but I definitely do not like their loud, large, anxious dog.

Our first thought was the sheer audacity for an owner to leave their dog at all hours of the night. I know he’s (the owner is male) not there because the dog doesn’t bark when he is at home.  And I know he’s home because of the car that’s never before been in the parking lot that’s now mysteriously there.

“Wow, Brittani, you are making yourself out to be a very nosy neighbor.”

No, I just want to make sure I have a solid argument before I go awkwardly telling my neighbor his dog needs to shut up.

It wasn’t that he (I’m assuming the dog is a male, but I can’t be sure) barked just in the evenings when I came home, it was that he barked at all odd hours. Sometimes it was midnight, sometimes 2, even once at 3:00 am.  I know what you’re thinking. “Surely it only lasted a couple of minutes?” No. The dog barks straight for hours at a time, I’m surprised it still has a voice left.  Even more strange, I couldn’t figure out why the owner wasn’t home at 3:00 am.

Jesse and I agreed to give it a week. But finally, we were ready to crack.  But our luck was about to come into play.

Jesse and his friend Schmee (that’s a nickname) decide to go out to the Mucky Duck — a bar nearby.  Whilst coming home, they run into none other than my new neighbor, a late 20’s general manager of the downtown Hooters.

That completely explains the odd hours.  Jesse gets his attention and does what men do best, he fights for my beauty sleep.  He tells the neighbor (whose name I still have yet to learn) that we work during the day and that his dog may have separation anxiety.  The owner didn’t even know his dog barked when he left.  This fact didn’t surprise me, as the dog never barks when he’s home.

He said he’d do what he could, but low and behold, at five this morning the dog wouldn’t shut up.  It’s either time to invest in earplugs, wait a week, or its time to do some damage.

I’m not really sure how much I should complain here, but I do know that I spend nearly enough on rent to deserve a warm, comfortable, QUIET place to sleep at night.  But is it really fair to make the neighbor move, or get rid of his dog?  I know I can’t take much more of a large, howling cute dog anymore. He (as I said I’m guessing here) may be adorable, but he sure as hell has no manners.

I’ll leave the moral here as…. Life happens. It’s tough. The choices are tough. But I have rights too darn it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 10:03 pm

    Girrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrl, I would call the apartment complex office STAT. Whether or not this guy “realizes” his dog has separation anxiety, it is impeeding on your sleep. You’re paying rent like everyone else and have the right to have a quiet home! Turn the problem over to the apartment manager and demand they take care of it. You gotta stick up for yourself. Trust me, I know all about annoying neighbors. Our downstairs neighbor’s dog barks ALL the time out the window. If I start laughing in my apartment, the dog hears it and barks his head off. It’s insane!

Leave a Reply

