Skip to content

Mix of Everything

June 12, 2011

I always laugh a little bit when I forget that I’ve DVR’ed something and I don’t fast forward through the commercials.

This weekend I came to a conclusion that the excuses I’ve been making for not starting to run again are just plain ridiculous. I have become very unhappy with my body appearance. Not because I’m large, not by any means. It’s more than running used to be my thing, something I owned. Yes, I ran because it was good for me, but more because it was mine. It was my adventure, my something to be conquered. My everything. Now I have the Real Housewives. Ugh.

I think these are men's legs. You get the idea

So, starting tomorrow, because the realization came way past my bedtime and I’m grouchy without sleep, I’ve downloaded a training schedule and I’m going to start running. I downloaded the schedule nearly two weeks ago, and I haven’t started yet. I’m sick of my excuses, and simply put the benefits outweigh the excuses I’m using.

I’m also going to download this “I Just Ran” Facebook application — cause I saw a good friend use it. So if you don’t see a new run every day, make sure you yell at me. Throw things. Scream. Leave nasty comments. Whatever. I need the motivation.

Second, I spent the weekend with my nephew this weekend. It was interesting to say the least. It was easier because Aidan is really good with his schedule, so he pretty much let me know if I was late feeding him, or putting him down for a nap. While very tiring, the warm break I gave my parents was met with thanks. Spending more time with my nephew was certainly a rewarding experience. Often I feel horrible because I don’t get to see him as often as I’d like, so this weekend was needed, badly. It felt great. Jesse was great with him, as well. Aidan and Jesse get along so well. It was cute to see them together.

It also reinforced that I’m not ready to have children. They simply take over every ounce of your life. I’ve heard friend say, “You’re life is over when you have children,” and I don’t believe that one bit. I could have done really anything I wanted with Aidan this weekend, but the realization is, you can’t get up and go with a baby. There are diaper bags to pack, meals to ensure happen before you leave, extra clothes, changing the diaper, packing the car. WOW. Exhausting. Mainly, we stayed at home because it was easier but also because we are saving money this weekend. All-in-all, a great learning experience while hanging out with the coolest baby ever. And I mean ever.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    June 13, 2011 8:37 am

    I think you might not understand what I mean when I tell people that I believe life ends when you have kids. What I mean is not that you have nothing left to look forward to, but that basically that your life–as you know it–will be over. Having a baby changes EVERYTHING. Every decision you would make, casual to extreme, would be dependent on that baby (and gone are the days when you can easily travel, get sleep, or go anywhere public). This is coming from having a niece that is/was NOT an easy baby, and sitting through countless diaper changes, screaming fits, temper tantrums, you name it. It’s hard to even be able to spend quality time with my sister, since it takes forever to get my niece anywhere and if we do anything non-family-friendly we have to find a sitter (impossible).

    I’m glad you decided to run again. I know my sister feels the same about having something that’s hers like that, and that’s the one thing she’s held on to during/after the baby. I’m guessing you run outside, but let me know if you ever want to do some treadmill running with me. I peter out at a mile or so, but I could give moral support!

  2. June 13, 2011 8:50 am

    I don’t think I misunderstood you at all. I understood you mean that you’re life is over, as you know it. But I’m highly inclined to disagree that “you have nothing left to look forward to.” What about when you’re child walks for the first time, says “Mommy” for the first time, goes to their first day of school, says “I love you” for the first time, goes to college for the first time, gets married? Are those completely unimportant and nothing to look forward to? Like anything in life, there are changes. College, finding a job, your first apartment, your first car payment, your wedding day, all of these things are drastic life changes which change life as you know it. I think having a child is certainly difficult and one of the biggest life changes of all, and I’m not saying it doesn’t change anything. I know for a fact it changes everything. I also know that having a child eliminates the previous “get-up-and-go” mentality. But that is certainly NOT “nothing to look forward to.” It’s different. While I can’t imagine having a child right now due to my young selfishness, in the future (late future) I am certainly looking forward to a little bundle of joy.

  3. Sandy permalink
    June 13, 2011 10:04 am

    Read again:

    “What I mean is not that you have nothing left to look forward to, but that basically that your life–as you know it–will be over.”

    I said that it’s NOT that you have nothing left to look forward to. Apparently you still don’t understand what I mean.

Leave a Reply

