Skip to content

Foxy Knoxy – Are we SURE she didn’t do it?

October 3, 2011

Well, where do I begin, exactly? Over the past few years, there has been a swell of crazy murder trials we’ve all followed via social media, like religion. Casey Anthony, Troy Davis, and of course, Amanda Knox.

I won’t go back and rehash all the dirty details and crimes, but these types of cases always get me really thinking. Sometimes it seems murderers walk free (we think), others are put to death for crimes we (the general public) aren’t really sure they committed in the first place. At no point were any of us in the jury box listening to all the details, but there certainly is speculation based on what we read in the media, social media especially.

So, what do I think? I think that while we really try to understand and get to the bottom of these said crimes, sometimes we’ll just never know. We have to live with that. I firmly believe Casey Anthony at least knows what happened to her daughter, maybe she didn’t kill her.  I don’t think Amanda Knox killed her roommate with the rage and ferociousness that the Italian prosecutors think she did. (Maybe she didn’t kill her at all!)

That’s not what leaves me in a tizzy at the end of the day. What leaves me thinking is the simple fact that as a jury, presented with the same amount of circumstantial evidence would find Troy Davis guilty, but not Casey Anthony, and not Amanda Knox. I couldn’t tell the difference… how could they? Yes, Amanda Knox wasn’t tried in American courts as were the other two, but the facts are very similar: A group of people presented with mostly circumstantial evidence found one person guilty and not another.

How can we ever be sure? Really, really sure?  The state of Texas killed a man, thinking they were really, really sure, but what if they weren’t?

Watch The Life of David Gale. You’ll never be sure again. (Disclaimer: while that movie is not representative of any of these crimes, it DOES show you that the United States (or other countries) often put people to death they are really sure committed the crime. Really sure.

Yeah, right.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 8:30 am

    In all Honesty we can not say for sure, she didn’t do it!
    There are some things questionable in this Case.
    I believe she got lucky because her Defense was able to get some important Evidence
    thrown out which would have linked Amanda to the Crime, however that doesn’t mean in my Mind that Amanda wasn’t involved in this horrible Crime.

  2. October 4, 2011 9:07 am

    Is this movie based on a true story? Looks interesting.

    • October 4, 2011 9:51 am

      It says it’s based on a true story – but when I did my original research when I saw the movie I wasn’t so sure. I’m sure it’s loosely based on a person with a different name? There is a man named David Gale who was a Professor Emeritus at Berkley, like in the movie, but I couldn’t find any information about this particular case. So, I’m guessing not really. Hollywood inspired and written. But… still… left me thinking pretty hard. You should watch it. I highly recommend it.

  3. sophie permalink
    October 4, 2011 9:12 pm

    I don’t think she had anything to do with this murder. I think Italy decided to make an example of an American…..a ‘don’t come to our country and think you’re going to get away with anything’ mindset. Too often, we take our freedom for granted and think it applies where ever we physically are…even in other countries. If we take anything from this, it’s not to take freedom for granted. When we are in other countries, we MUST follow their laws and not assume our country can or will come to rescue us from ours unlawful behavior. Just because we can do something here, doesn’t mean we won’t get our head cut off for the same thing elsewhere. That said, I’m glad this young lady gets to come home. She got circumstancially caught in a nasty mess. I feel very bad for her.

Leave a Reply

