Skip to content

Sayonara 2011, Hola 2012

January 8, 2012

2011 was definitely a difficult year. I moved three times, from two different cities, and nearly had an emotional breakdown. I hated my job, my boyfriend, my car, my apparent sad plight in life. Thank God that’s over.

For the first time, in a very long time, I don’t feel like I’m being held back in any aspect of my life. My career, friendships, and relationships are all where they should be in terms of growth and personal satisfaction. Never, in my whole life, have all three things worked together in complete synchronicity. My emotional health has never been better. (Thank you Jenny, Nic, and my boss for my PR promotion.)

Next on the list is to get a grip on that budget of mine. (We’re almost there.)

I’ve never been a sap for those new year resolutions, nor have I celebrated the new year with the vigor of the people who pay $50 for a night on the town and waiting in line for two hours for a 2.5 oz. beer. It could also be in part because when I was in college, my grandfather died on New Year’s Eve, right around 3:00 in the morning, while I was drunk with my friends at a house party. I never celebrated it with intensity after that.

But, that being said, I am comforted knowing I have a chance to ‘start over’. I know I don’t have to wait until the new year to make any such changes, but it still feels like a chance to just erase the past and begin again, especially after such a crappy 2011.  So I’m starting over this year.

Besides, I have to keep up all those compliments from co-workers about how fresh, happy, 20 lbs. lighter, and stress-free I look.

P.S. I just finished a client’s book, and it made my top ten list of favorite books of all time. It’s a completely wrenching tale, and I recommend everyone read it. I posted it to my Shelfari profile, and posted to Facebook as well. Seriously – check it out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. S. Love permalink
    January 9, 2012 9:11 am

    Great post. To many more blessings in 2012!

  2. Susan permalink
    January 10, 2012 2:06 pm

    I second that Shik!

Leave a Reply

