Skip to content

What did Brittani Stop Today?

May 7, 2012

If I thought I had only three readers before, now I’m sure I have none. I definitely haven’t posted in a while and there is definitely a reason for that.

I’ve always been a firm believer I won’t take very personal aspects of my life and post them here, especially when they involve work, coworkers, and events that are work-related. Boyfriends, however are completely okay. But don’t get your hopes up, because that’s actually a part of my life that’s going really, really, well. There isn’t anything to talk about!

One thing I can talk about however, is how great my once broken toe feels. So much in fact, that I plan to get up tomorrow at 7:00 am (I can hear the gasps now) and run a soft mile around the mile trail near my house.

For those of you who know I’m not a morning person, I promise you, it won’t be pretty – but I’m going to do it. After seeing all my friends run the mini, I’ve gotten pretty down on myself that I haven’t started running again. There isn’t any excuse, and it’s going to be a long painful road. I think I’ve convinced Nic to run with me (we’ll see how that goes) because I run much better with a partner, and so I’m setting some goals for myself. I think with the proper diet and exercise, I won’t gain weight since I’ve quit smoking.

THAT’S RIGHT! You heard it! I’m quitting smoking, again. I did it once, and I can do it again. The only thing that was really, really hard was that when I stopped smoking the first time, I was super-stressed at work, and I replaced most of my smoking activities with food. I was also completely sedentary. So, I’ve worked up a plan that involves keeping all the weight off. I gained nearly 30 lbs (although you couldn’t find a soul who believes that except my doctor) and I won’t let it happen again. I’m extremely uncomfortable and frankly horrified to gain weight, and I was so unhappy when I was larger. I won’t let that happen again.

I’ve only gone a day without smoking – but so far I haven’t even wanted one. The first three days are the hardest, and if I can make it past that, then I’d say I’m golden. I also don’t hang out with anyone anymore who smokes, so I’m not tempted as often as I was the first time I stopped. Wish me luck!

I’ll be posting more Daily Mile posts as well, so if you don’t see some, get on me. Accountability is the best!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 9:02 pm

    I believe in you Brittani. i hope your toe is doing alot better.

Leave a Reply

