Skip to content

Stay-cations

May 13, 2012

The time always comes when you really just need a break from work. That time came for me, and so I decided to take a few days off for my birthday, to hang out and do nothing, get a jumpstart on my  new lifestyle of not smoking, running and eating healthy, and of course, hanging out with Nic.

I chose a Thursday and Friday to make it a longer weekend, and I thought it would be the perfect time to really buckle down on the new things I’m doing. I run best with a partner, so when I told Nic I wanted to stop smoking, I asked him how he might feel running with me. I think he jumped at the idea (I’m still not sure how he feels about it), but we’ve been running together for nearly a week, and I’ve already gotten up to a 9 min/mile pace. That’s pretty good for someone who used to run mini-marathon distances and then just… stopped.

But now that I’ve started running again, I have never felt better. I actually look forward to my runs each day and enjoy eating better. I’m hoping it sticks. For now, I’m just trying to take one day at a time, rather than looking at the bigger picture. I don’t think I’ll be able to succeed unless I take it one day at a time. So far, I’ve met each of my daily goals and haven’t strayed away from what I promised in the beginning, even if that was just a week ago.

I also got to celebrate some belated birthday activities with Nic that he’d planned previously. On Thursday, we went to an antique mall in Bloomington – because he knows I absolutely love them – and we explored for an hour or two. We found some awesome lamps made from bottles. I only wish I could be that creative!  On Friday, I had a PRSA board meeting to help develop strategy for the next couple of years. After that long meeting – Nic took to me … to Oliver Winery! If you haven’t been, you really should visit and go on one of their complimentary tours. You do have to pay a nominal fee for tasting of up to 8 wines, but that’s understandable.

Oliver Winery

I’ve never been to a full tasting before at a winery, and we went on a tour. We prepared a picnic of cheese, strawberry, baguettes and chicken salad, fresh with a new bottle of wine I’d never tried before. I had no idea there were dry WHITE wines, and in my incredulousness we bought a bottle of Pinot Grigio. It was… delicious. The picnic was also delicious. I think it’s one of most romantic dates I’ve encountered in my life.

By the way – if you paint your nails yellow, you’ll feel really bright. Try it. I’m feeling like spring already!

I’m feeling really refreshed, and I’m actually excited to get back to work! (I really just wanted to let everyone know how the running/no smoking thing was going! It’s going GREAT!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

