Skip to content

Why I’m Glad I’m a Millennial…Sort of

July 22, 2012

women, success, businesses, CEO's, executives, winner, winningThe generation I grew up in constitutes me as a “Millennial”, and first let me tell you that doesn’t mean I like being a millennial. I know, I know, the title of the blog is why I’m glad I’m a millennial, but I say that because the very fact that I grew up with this generational stereotype gives me the ability to stand out with all the other exceptional people of my generation.

Why?

Because we do in fact, work hard. I’m not sure if you saw the blog post “Stop Telling Us We’re Not Special”,  after a commencement speaker in fact told us, we’re not special. I suppose this is my input and two cents to that discussion.

I know I’m not special. That’s fine. I grew up in a household that taught me no one will know who I am unless I stick my nose in everyone’s corporate office and fight tooth and nail to the top. It won’t be easy, the economy will probably suck (doesn’t every generation say that?) and I’ll get paid nothing. This makes me different than most millennials, according to the stereotype, and I welcome that fact wholeheartedly. The fact my parents weren’t easy on me, didn’t tell me “Good Job” after every race, and constantly pushed me to be better than what I considered my best made me who I am today.

I’m not special.

Every once in a while I get really, really down, and I forget that it IS possible to win when you simply work hard and ask for what you want. There is a long period of complaining about my salary, how deserved I feel I am because of all the hard work I’ve given, and how I don’t agree with where corporate America is heading. These are all symptoms of my “millennial-ness”.

But also, every once in a while, I find information that completely validates my belief that hard work does in fact, pay off with reward.

First it was a blog post by Shannon Fitzgerald, and MTV executive I follow on Twitter, who happens to be a good friend of my PR idol, Kelly Cutrone.  She has a blog called “The Accidental Executive” and posted this today. What SHOULD I be doing while I’m waiting for my dream career? It’s a battle I simply fight every day in my mind. She put it to rest by describing that what I’m doing – working as hard as I can in any career I take, will get me to the top.

Today in my favorite magazine, I read an article about the COO of Atlantic Records, a company I consider to be my “dream company”, the company I’ll know I’ve made it to the top if I worked there. The COO also happens to be a woman. I found out everything I could, even finding this article from New York Times profiling how she came to be in her place of power at Atlantic Records.

What is this? Two power women telling me I’m on the right track? That sounds like I’m on the right track to me. Moral? There’s nothing better than doing everything you can and being validated by top women executives. #win

One Comment leave one →
  1. snacksformax permalink
    July 24, 2012 10:08 pm

    #Definitewin! I wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Blog Award. Check and it out and impress your readers with your favorite cartoon character! (You’ll see)

    http://snacksformax.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/liebster-blog-award-nomination-wow-thanks-3/

Leave a Reply

