Skip to content

My New Job

September 3, 2012

It’s only been three weeks into my new job, and I can already tell how in love I am with it. I was very nervous to start something over – being that I’ve been with the same company for three years and I haven’t known anything different. It was my first job, and my first time giving “two weeks.” I came from the land of “Finish your shifts.”

The best part of switching jobs has to be the shortened commute. I dropped 40 minutes just by working on the southside of downtown. That’s the other part I love most about the new gig, it’s in an urban area. I feel little like Mary Tyler Moore as she’s throwing her hat into the air. (I stole that metaphor from a friend.) It’s just… nice to be a stones throw from coffee, a nice diner, or a happy hour choice.  It’s even more fun to be in the middle of it all. In my first week there was a concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, which is next door to my office, and the next it was the Women of Faith Conference. It’s so much fun to be so close to it all.

The next best part about working downtown is how close I’ve become with some old friends. Luckily, my very good friend Jessie switched jobs right before I did, and so moving became something I was experiencing with someone else, too. It was a great comfort knowing I wasn’t going through this new job alone. I also, then, had the chance to meet with some friends I formerly couldn’t. It’s been great getting to know some people more than I had before.

I’ve had my struggles already, but nothing I can’t handle. My problem-solving skills are coming in handy.

I’m finally getting back into the groove. I’ve had to nearly reorganize my entire day to make room for things I did all the time anyway. It’s been hard trying to manage everything differently, but I’m doing it. It’s certainly a change for the better!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2012 2:42 pm

    I’m so happy you’re happy, Brittani! Although I miss your pretty face next to me in the office. I’ll see you a week from Tuesday, though!

Leave a Reply

